Greenguy's Board


Go Back   Greenguy's Board > Programming & Scripting
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2006-01-26, 08:43 AM   #1
Lemmy
You can now put whatever you want in this space :)
 
Lemmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Next door to a kid with a moped.
Posts: 1,492
phpAdsNew/Cron

Anybody familiar with phpAdsNew out there? I sure could use some help!

I'm trying to set up the cron job to run the maintenance script in PAN, but so far neither I nor my host support has succeeded in making it work. I'm still getting that annoying warning pop-up.

This is the (current) code in my cron:
Code:
0**** lynx -dump http://gon-ads.com/adserver/maintenance/maintenance.php
I don't have cPanel, so support is doing everything for me. I know how to log in with Putty and look at the code myself, but I don't know how to edit it.

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated. TIA
__________________
BUY MY PORNSITES!
Lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-26, 08:46 AM   #2
Cleo
Subversive filth of the hedonistic decadent West
 
Cleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Southeast Florida
Posts: 27,936
This is what mine looks like
Code:
## Needed by PHPAds
10 10 * * * lynx -dump http://www.cleos-porn-links.com/cgi-bin/phpads/maintenance/maintenance.php > /dev/null 2>&1
__________________
Free Rides on Uber and Lyft
Uber Car: uberTzTerri
Lyft Car: TZ896289
Cleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-26, 08:57 AM   #3
Lemmy
You can now put whatever you want in this space :)
 
Lemmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Next door to a kid with a moped.
Posts: 1,492
Thanks Cleo. From what I can see they're pretty identical except for this part: > /dev/null 2>&1 and that's to prevent the script from e-mailing you every time the cron runs, yes?

I'm going to find a few tuts on cron/ssh. It's a bitch having to rely on my host to get every little thing done.
__________________
BUY MY PORNSITES!
Lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-26, 09:06 AM   #4
Cleo
Subversive filth of the hedonistic decadent West
 
Cleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Southeast Florida
Posts: 27,936
Yes that is correct.

I just SSH into my server and open a shell to edit my crontab. Vi is my editor and can be a bit confusing. Here is a page on using Vi.
http://staff.washington.edu/rells/R110/#basics5

SSH into your server
ssh USERNAME@YOURDOMAIN.com
HIT RETURN
it will ask you for your password and not show what you type.
HIT RETURN
crontab -e
HIT RETURN

This should put you in your default editor which most likely is Vi
__________________
Free Rides on Uber and Lyft
Uber Car: uberTzTerri
Lyft Car: TZ896289
Cleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-26, 09:30 AM   #5
Lemmy
You can now put whatever you want in this space :)
 
Lemmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Next door to a kid with a moped.
Posts: 1,492
Well that explains a few things. I tried using the Putty interface just as a regular text editor, which apparently doesn't work, lol. Thanks for that link.
__________________
BUY MY PORNSITES!
Lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-26, 05:20 PM   #6
natalie
Whoo! 9/10 the way to buddy plays in "The Christ from Oz"!
 
natalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 921
Send a message via ICQ to natalie
this is what mine looked like when I was moving:
/usr/bin/GET -d http://www.pun-an-i.com/dir/maintenance/maintenance.php
No idea if its the same now cause it was all done for me
natalie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-29, 02:03 AM   #7
CalModels
Trying is the first step towards failure
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 122
Try curl instead of lynx

0 * * * * curl -s -o /dev/null http://bah.humbug.com/maintenance/maintenance.php
__________________
My Amateur Calgary Models
CalModels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-30, 12:42 AM   #8
m0nk3yb0y
If something goes wrong at the plant, blame the guy who can't speak English
 
m0nk3yb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Thnx for your posts guys. I been trying to get a script of mine to run through cron for a while and couldn't figure out why it was trying to run a php file as a bash script. Guess sometimes you just have to think outside the box.... so to speak
__________________
Sleazy Monkey
m0nk3yb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-30, 05:35 AM   #9
Lemmy
You can now put whatever you want in this space :)
 
Lemmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Next door to a kid with a moped.
Posts: 1,492
Finally got it to work! This was the magic code that did the trick:
Code:
0**** /usr/local/bin/lynx -dump http://gon-ads.com/adserver/maintenance/maintenance.php
Thanks for the help everybody.
__________________
BUY MY PORNSITES!
Lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Mark Read
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Greenguy Marketing Inc