Greenguy's Board


Go Back   Greenguy's Board > TGP Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2007-01-30, 08:50 AM   #1
rachelo
Ahhh ... sweet pity. Where would my love life be without it?
 
rachelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to rachelo
Autogallery Pro Help

How do you get a text listing on two columns from your permanent galleries? For some reason I have a hard time with this.

I want to create some archive pages and have a text list of galleries on two columns (not thumbnails).

Any help is much appreciated.
__________________
rachelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 09:30 AM   #2
Toby
Lonewolf Internet Sales
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,826
Send a message via ICQ to Toby
First, why are you using permanent galleries to build archives, rather than the archived galleries in your database?
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 10:13 AM   #3
Baxter
Trying is the first step towards failure
 
Baxter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 123
you mean like this?

PHP Code:
<table align="center">
<
tr>
<
td>
<%
PERMANENT
TYPE Text
CATEGORY Mixed
AMOUNT 50
HTML Text
%>
</
td>
<
td width="100"></td>
<
td>
<%
PERMANENT
TYPE Text
CATEGORY Mixed
AMOUNT 50
HTML Text
%>
</
td>
</
tr>
</
table
__________________
Baxter's Network - My Network Of Porn Sites!!!
Baxter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 10:14 AM   #4
Baxter
Trying is the first step towards failure
 
Baxter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toby View Post
First, why are you using permanent galleries to build archives, rather than the archived galleries in your database?
he might be just starting his tgp and needs to fillit with stuff so its not empty...i do it like that as well much faster
__________________
Baxter's Network - My Network Of Porn Sites!!!
Baxter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 12:47 PM   #5
rachelo
Ahhh ... sweet pity. Where would my love life be without it?
 
rachelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to rachelo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toby View Post
First, why are you using permanent galleries to build archives, rather than the archived galleries in your database?
Well, my TGP is not really live right now and all the galleries are mine, or sponsor galleries so I was thinking to keep them aroud.

Is that a bad idea?
__________________
rachelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 12:56 PM   #6
rachelo
Ahhh ... sweet pity. Where would my love life be without it?
 
rachelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to rachelo
Baxter, for some reason every link is a column now.
I just did a copy paste from the code you posted.
__________________
rachelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 01:12 PM   #7
Toby
Lonewolf Internet Sales
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,826
Send a message via ICQ to Toby
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachelo View Post
Well, my TGP is not really live right now and all the galleries are mine, or sponsor galleries so I was thinking to keep them aroud.

Is that a bad idea?
It's just more difficult to work with, since some of the template functions don't work with permanent galleries. Baxter's solution is the only one I can think of for two columns of permanent galleries.

Your archived galleries won't go away, so I don't see any real advantage to using permanent unless as Baxter suggests you don't have enough galleries to fill both your main pages and the archives.

Here's the AGP code that I use to get two columns on my archives. It fills both columns at the same time, so if you run out of galleries in a category both columns come out the same length if even number of galleries, or left column 1 longer if an odd number.
Code:
<%TEMPLATE
NAME Text
HTML <a href="##Gallery_URL##" onMouseOver="window.status='##Description##'; return true"; onMouseOut="window.status=''; return true";>##Description##</a> (##Thumbnails##)<br>
%>
and within the page
Code:
<TABLE>
  <TR>
<%GALLERIES
TYPE Text
CATEGORY {insert category name}
AMOUNT 200
HTML Text

INSERT
{
    LOCATION +1
    HTML </td>
}

INSERT
{
    LOCATION +2
    HTML </tr>
}
INSERT
{
    LOCATION +2
    HTML <tr>
}

INSERT
{
    LOCATION +1
    HTML <td>
}
%>
  </TR>
</TABLE>

Last edited by Toby; 2007-01-30 at 01:15 PM..
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 01:17 PM   #8
Toby
Lonewolf Internet Sales
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,826
Send a message via ICQ to Toby
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachelo View Post
Baxter, for some reason every link is a column now.
I just did a copy paste from the code you posted.
Your TEMPLATE for Text probably contains TD tags
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 01:50 PM   #9
rachelo
Ahhh ... sweet pity. Where would my love life be without it?
 
rachelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to rachelo
Thanks for all the help.
Toby: I did a copy paste and I get nothing. I replaced {insert category name} with Mixed.
Baxter: It looks like that code works now.

I just made a clean tgp.html with nothing but the codes you posted here.

I guess I will just keep playing with it.
__________________
rachelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 01:58 PM   #10
Toby
Lonewolf Internet Sales
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,826
Send a message via ICQ to Toby
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachelo View Post
Thanks for all the help.
Toby: I did a copy paste and I get nothing. I replaced {insert category name} with Mixed
The code I posted would need to be used with an archive page per your AGP setup, such as {cat_name}.html.
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 02:04 PM   #11
rachelo
Ahhh ... sweet pity. Where would my love life be without it?
 
rachelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to rachelo
OK , thanks Toby

I think I got it now. Maybe I should spend some time learning php and pearl
__________________
rachelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-30, 02:20 PM   #12
Toby
Lonewolf Internet Sales
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,826
Send a message via ICQ to Toby
PHP is useful, but not necessary for using AGP. I tried to teach myself Perl, ended up doing alot of swearing.
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-31, 07:16 AM   #13
rachelo
Ahhh ... sweet pity. Where would my love life be without it?
 
rachelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to rachelo
I am so screwed up, I totally messed up my tgp.tpl, any one knows where to get the original one. I think I need a copy and I have to start over.|badidea|

Also all my galleries are Archived even new ones I just imported today.
Any ideas?

Thanks
__________________
rachelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-31, 08:00 AM   #14
Toby
Lonewolf Internet Sales
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,826
Send a message via ICQ to Toby
There's a template validator in the JMB Owners Lounge. That will help you find the errors in your template.

When the main tgp template failed to build any galleries it archived all the approved galleries. You'll have to manually set them back to approved before you do your next rebuild after you fix your tgp.tpl
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-31, 09:23 AM   #15
rachelo
Ahhh ... sweet pity. Where would my love life be without it?
 
rachelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 205
Send a message via ICQ to rachelo
Thanks Toby, the template validator did it, my page is back

Is this ok to get a table of thumbnails:

Code:
<%TEMPLATE
NAME Thumb
HTML <td><a href="##Gallery_URL##" target="_blank"><img src="##Thumbnail_URL##" border="0" class="thumb"></a></td>
%>
Code:
<%GALLERIES
TYPE Thumb
CATEGORY Mixed
AMOUNT 28
HTML Thumb

INSERT
{
    LOCATION +7
    HTML </tr><tr>
}
%>
If not any suggestions?

Thank You all.
__________________
rachelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-01-31, 10:10 AM   #16
Toby
Lonewolf Internet Sales
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,826
Send a message via ICQ to Toby
That should give you 4 rows of 7 thumbs.
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Mark Read
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Greenguy Marketing Inc