Greenguy's Board


Go Back   Greenguy's Board > Newbie Questions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2007-12-09, 11:34 PM   #1
ponygirl
on vacation
 
ponygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,095
Send a message via ICQ to ponygirl
changing html to php

I didn't know where to put this but I figured someone in here could help me

I can't believe I didn't think of this before I started all this work but I'm looking at changing just my index/main pages on my LL from html to php and wondered if anyone has done this & what they did about their link trades? I also have recips pointing to main.html, so what would be the best way to redirect that to the .php?

thanks for any input!
ponygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-09, 11:44 PM   #2
Beaver Bob
Porn Blog Addict
 
Beaver Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 715
Send a message via ICQ to Beaver Bob
you can run php pages as .html by adding this line to you .htaccess or apache config.

PHP Code:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html 
Beaver Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-10, 08:37 AM   #3
ponygirl
on vacation
 
ponygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,095
Send a message via ICQ to ponygirl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beaver Bob View Post
you can run php pages as .html by adding this line to you .htaccess or apache config.

PHP Code:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html 
so that would allow me to run php script on an html page, right?

What if I had a script that generates the page as .php and I can't change that (or at least can't figure out how I could lol)
ponygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-10, 08:54 AM   #4
Useless
Certified Nice Person
 
Useless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dirty Undies, NY
Posts: 11,268
Send a message via ICQ to Useless
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponygirl View Post
so that would allow me to run php script on an html page, right?

What if I had a script that generates the page as .php and I can't change that (or at least can't figure out how I could lol)
Are you saying that it creates a .php page? If so, you could search the script for 'php' and eventually you'll discover where it applies the extension. It may even be in the config file.
__________________
Click here to purchase a bridge I'm selling.
Useless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-10, 09:42 AM   #5
Simon
That which does not kill us, will try, try again.
 
Simon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Conch Republic
Posts: 5,150
Send a message via ICQ to Simon Send a message via AIM to Simon Send a message via Yahoo to Simon
And for a convoluted workaround, if you can't for some reason get the script to create/use .html extensions, you can let it generate the index.php page and then you can use a PHP include statement to pull the contents of that page into your index.html page. If the script builds exactly the page you want, this could be the complete contents of your index.html page on your server:

Code:
<?php include ('index.php'); ?>
__________________
"If you're happy and you know it, think again." -- Guru Pitka
Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-10, 10:46 AM   #6
Preacher
There's Xanax in my thurible!
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wherever they screw on my head
Posts: 2,441
Send a message via ICQ to Preacher
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
And for a convoluted workaround, if you can't for some reason get the script to create/use .html extensions, you can let it generate the index.php page and then you can use a PHP include statement to pull the contents of that page into your index.html page. If the script builds exactly the page you want, this could be the complete contents of your index.html page on your server:

Code:
<?php include ('index.php'); ?>
Or just plop down the php page with an ssi include, then your index can be in shtml, and set html pages to run ssi includes in your htaccess.
__________________
NSCash * This Depraved World
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-10, 10:58 AM   #7
ponygirl
on vacation
 
ponygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,095
Send a message via ICQ to ponygirl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
Or just plop down the php page with an ssi include, then your index can be in shtml, and set html pages to run ssi includes in your htaccess.
ok, now you guys are getting too technical for me

I think I will try Simon's runaround...oops, I mean workaround and see what happens. Thank you Bob, Simon, UW & Preacher |blowkiss|
ponygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-11, 07:51 PM   #8
ponygirl
on vacation
 
ponygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,095
Send a message via ICQ to ponygirl
just FYI - you were all right!!

I used the php include, and added BBob's line into my htaccess, and by golly, it all worked

still tweaking things, but BIG thanks guys!
ponygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-11, 08:17 PM   #9
T Pat
You can now put whatever you want in this space :)
 
T Pat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paridise
Posts: 3,244
Send a message via ICQ to T Pat
You've been a busy little girl
I love the BlinkList concept
__________________
How To Keep An Asshole In Suspense

I'll Tell You Later
T Pat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-11, 11:55 PM   #10
ponygirl
on vacation
 
ponygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,095
Send a message via ICQ to ponygirl
thanks for your support TPat!!

now I'm gonna go dream in css lol
ponygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-12, 02:04 PM   #11
Preacher
There's Xanax in my thurible!
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wherever they screw on my head
Posts: 2,441
Send a message via ICQ to Preacher
I like that idea as well.

That's actually how my blog started out, as the index of my linklist. I have no idea why I seperated the two (this is probably 2-3 years ago) but I keep trying to convince myself to combine the two again.
__________________
NSCash * This Depraved World
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-15, 02:40 PM   #12
blogman
WHO IS FONZY!?! Don't they teach you anything at school?
 
blogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Do you have ssh access to your account ?
__________________
There is no money in porn adult messages aggregator.
blogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Mark Read
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Greenguy Marketing Inc