Greenguy's Board

Greenguy's Board (http://www.greenguysboard.com/board/index.php)
-   General Business Knowledge (http://www.greenguysboard.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Blocking domains in htaccess and looking up ip adress (http://www.greenguysboard.com/board/showthread.php?t=18169)

kalle7 2005-04-01 12:06 PM

Blocking domains in htaccess and looking up ip adress
 
|waves| Hi all,
I have some questions that I hope you could help me out with.

There are some sites that are linking to my galleries and free sites and sending loads of traffic (that does not convert). I would like to block these domains from linking to my things, but dont know how to do it. I have blocked fusker and sites like that with my htaccess file, but I have no idea how to block domains or ip adresses.

Also I would like to ask if someone knows how to look up other domains ip adresses. I dont know if I ask the question the correct way so feel free to correct me.

Thanks everybody! |cool|

ArtWilliams 2005-04-01 12:14 PM

There is a lot of good stuff here:

http://www.htaccesstools.com/

including several scripts which will create the .htaccess for you.

Cheers,

...art

kalle7 2005-04-01 12:25 PM

Hi Art!
Thanks for that link - I appriciate that! That fixed my linking problem in a sec. I really liked the redirection tool. Now I just gotta find a pay pr click sponsor lol

kalle7 2005-04-01 12:27 PM

I am still interested in how to look up ip adresses from a domain if someone has got some info on that |viking|

BlueQuartz 2005-04-01 07:48 PM

hey kalle7 check these links out http://www.dnsstuff.com/ & http://network-tools.com/

cd34 2005-04-01 08:14 PM

whois.sc also provides some reverse lookup capabilities but requires a 'free' registration

GeorgeTH 2005-04-02 02:18 AM

simple dos prompt tracert does it too:

open "Command Prompt"
type behind the >tracert domain.com
first thing you get is "Tracing route to domain.com [123.456.78.90]"
and then you can see which way the traffic moves, and where it might stall = also good to check own domain

kalle7 2005-04-03 02:01 PM

Thanks BlueQuartz, cd34 and George!
I will study these places further and try out the tips you have given.

I appriciate your help! |cheers|

BlueQuartz 2005-04-03 05:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kalle7
Thanks BlueQuartz, cd34 and George!
I will study these places further and try out the tips you have given.

I appriciate your help! |cheers|

welcome kalle7!!!

kalle7 2005-04-04 02:18 PM

I seem to have a problem getting this domain blocking thing to work in htaccess:

This one works:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://www.top-teen-sex.com/
RewriteRule /* http://www.google.com [R,L]

But if I add one more domain to the blocking list it does not work anymore:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://www.top-teen-sex.com/
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://sex-in-school.com/
RewriteRule /* http://www.google.com [R,L]

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong and can suggest a better way to do this. I also tried the http://www.htaccesstools.com/block-hitbots/ , but it only works with one domain blocked. Drives me nuts lol

cd34 2005-04-04 02:26 PM

RewriteRule .* http://www.google.com [R,L]

kalle7 2005-04-04 02:43 PM

Hi cd34, thank you for the tip, but I still does not work on multiple banned domains.

When I have just one domain it works, but not on several. Could it be something wrong with my server? Any ideas?

kalle7 2005-04-04 06:26 PM

Seems like I have found a solution to my problem and will post it here if someone else needs it also.

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://www.domain-name.com/ [OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^http://www.domain-name.com/ [OR]
RewriteRule /* http://www.google.com [R,L]


Perhaps one of the moderators would be so kind to remove the old ones where I have posted the domains that have linked to me so that they will not get any SE attention. I thought I could remove it after, but I dont have the option. Thanks!

kalle7 2005-04-04 06:59 PM

Please do not use the code I have posted above. I thought it would work, but it redirects all traffic and that was not the purpose. I am very sorry about this and I am still open to suggestions on problem. Thanks!

kalle7 2005-04-04 08:11 PM

Sorry for making a huge mess here, but now I have got it working lol

http://www.htaccesstools.com/block-hitbots/ Make sure you put in the domains like this: domainname.com/ or else it will not work.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Greenguy Marketing Inc